A Willing Heart

Exodus 35:5 (KJV)
(5) “Take ye from among you an offering unto the LORD: whosoever is of a willing heart, let him bring it, an offering of the LORD; gold, and silver, and brass,

____________________________________________________

 

I was praying about what I should write about in today’s Daily Thoughts when Exodus 35 came to mind. I thought that this chapter came to mind because it was in one of my devotions. I searched twice for this scripture reference. I did not find it. I could see the verse concerning “a willing heart” in my mind’s eye, and I knew the Lord was leading me.

 

You will note that I have put in bold print the phrase “willing heart.” When I read this earlier this month, it stuck with me. The first thing I thought of was the journey out of Egypt. When the Israelites left Egypt, they received certain things from the Egyptians. (See Exodus 12:35.) The things that they received on that day would serve as the things needed to build the tabernacle and its vessels.

 

The fact that they had a willing heart meant that they did not mind giving toward the building of the tabernacle. In fact, they gave so much that Moses had to stop them. They had given what was over and and above what was needed.

 

Do we have a willing heart? Are we ready at any time to give to the kingdom of God? Can we give over and above what is needed? This is a question we need to ask ourselves. Am I giving with a “willing heart” to the work of the ministry or am I giving grudgingly? Note what 2 Corinthians 9:7 says:

 

2 Corinthians 9:7 (KJV)
(7) “Every man ac
cording as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

