Forgiving Your Enemy

http://ref.ly/2S9.1-10

 

This chapter discusses what king David did concerning Mephibosheth. He was the son of Saul—David’s enemy. David became Saul’s archenemy when he won so many battles. The Israelites began to sing praises to David because of this. This made Saul angry toward David. He tried to kill David, but he was able to escape Saul. Saul searched for David to kill him, but God protected David. David had an opportunity to kill Saul, but David respected Saul as king.

 

          David wanted to know if there were any of Saul’s descendants left. He was doing this for Jonathan’s sake. Verse 1. It was found out that there was a servant of Saul living whose name was Ziba. David sent a messenger to him wanting to know if he was the same servant of Saul. He inquired of Ziba. He wanted to know if there were any Saul’s descendants alive. He wanted to show kindness toward anybody who remained. This showed that David held no animosity toward Saul or his family. This is how we should respond to our enemies. We should not hate those who are relatives of our enemy. Although their relative did us wrong, we should still extend hospitality toward their family. We must accept what they did without a root of bitterness. This is the way God expects us to behave toward those who may have offended us.

 

          When David heard about Mephibosheth, David invited him to live with him. This man was lame, and David placed him at the king’s table. Because David forgave Saul, he was able to extend hospitality to Mephibosheth.

 

          Some of you may be saying that this is a hard thing to do. Let me give you an example of forgiveness. Many years ago, I was spiritually abused by my pastor. By right, I should have forgiven him, but I had a hard time forgiving him. I prayed to Jesus asking Him to help me forgive this pastor. After that prayer, time went by. One morning my phone rang around 7:30 a.m. When I asked who was calling, it was that pastor. He began to weep, and so did I. He asked me to forgive him, and I did right away. While he continued to weep and talk, I realized that the Lord had given me the strength to forgive him. When I got off the phone, I praised God for giving me the strength to forgive him. We were both set free from this incident. I can now pray for him that God will restore him to his former ministry. This is what forgiveness is all about. If you are having a hard time forgiving someone, tell the Father about it. He will help you to forgive that individual.

Leave a Reply

