Note 1: Light

Note 1: Light

 

First, I would like to thank you for reading these notes. I hope your study of John’s Gospel is benefitting you. I also hope that when you visit these notes, they will enlighten you.

 

I suggest that you read Isaiah 40-55. Some of the words that Jesus speaks in His various discourses and statements are found in these chapters.

 

 

Deutero-Isaiah and the Fourth Gospel have major images in common. One of these is light. Yahweh has given the servant to be light to the nations Isaiah 42:6; 49:6. Yahweh’s judgment and salvation will be a light for the nations. This image sometimes combined with those of darkness and blindness: “I have given you as a …light to the nations, to open the eyes that are blind, to bring out…from the prison those who sit in darkness Isaiah 42:6-7; cf. 49:9. I will the blind by a road they do not know…I will turn the darkness before them into light Isaiah 42:16.

 

 

Leave a Reply

