Characteristics

Characteristics

The Holy Spirit never condemns true Christians. Note the following verse:

Romans 8:1 (KJV)
(1) There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.”

As your Father, God sometimes allows you to experience the consequences of your sin as an encouragement to change. He will also produce in your heart a desire to do His will. Note http://ref.ly/He12.4-11. See Philippians 2:13.


The Enemy Discovered

Meet two kinds of guilt: One is a friend who speaks truth, gently leading you to repentance and forgiveness.

The other is a secret conspirator who taunts and condemns, bringing dishonor and inner shame.

False guilt arises when you blame yourself even though you have committed no wrong or when you continue to blame yourself after you have confessed and turned from your sin. Note I Peter 5:8

True Guilt

John 16:13 (KJV)
(13) Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.”

-Based on Fact–“I was wrong to take paper and other office supplies home for my personal use. This is actually stealing.”

-Results in a Godly Sorrow over Sin–“My failure to be honest makes me aware of how much I don’t reflect the character of Christ. Dear God, I want to
change. I am heartsick over bringing shame to my Savior.”

-Brings Conviction from the Holy Spirit–“I now see that my attitude was wrong in assuming that the company owed me what I took.”

-Accepts Forgiveness–“I am thankful that I have a heavenly Father who will always forgive me, no matter what I have done.”

False Guilt

Revelation 12:10 (KJV)
(10) And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night.”

-Based on Feelings–“I feel horrible…because I am horrible for wanting something that isn’t mine, much less thinking about taking it. How could I sink so low as to even consider using work supplies at home?”

-Results in a Worldly Fear of Consequences–“I should have worked all weekend to make up for slacking off all week. Now my employer may decide to fire me. If only I had accomplished more, I would not be in this predicament. What am I going to tell my wife if I lose my job? How am I going to pay my bills?”

-Brings Condemnation from Satan–“I am a terrible person for feeling anger at my employer.”

-Abides in Self-pity-“I’m always trying to do my best, but I just don’t have all the advantages that others have. If I had a better paying job, I wouldn’t have to resort to taking things.”

John 8:32 (KJV)
(32) And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

This is an abbreviated list of these conditions.

 

Leave a Reply

