Surface Causes of Stress

Looking under the hood is not enough. Check out the parts that have received excessive wear and tear. Are you worn and torn by stress? Have you analyzed your own condition? This is not about somebody else. It is about you and your life. Take a close look at Paul’s many experiences, and examine them in the light of your own experiences. You will see the circumstances, which are most likely to cause stress. If you have pressures in your life that are not being used to press you closer to the Lord, you may be on the way to a blowout! [For the headings in the following section, see Ogilvie, Making Stress Work for You, 37. For a list of common surface causes of stress, see Keith W. Sehnert, Stress/Unstress: How You Can Control Stress at Home and on the Job (Minneapolis, MN: Augsburg, 1981), 68-69.]

 

“Are they Hebrews? So am I. Are they Israelites? So am I. Are they Abraham’s descendants? So am I. Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from my own countrymen, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false brothers. I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn? If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness. The God and Father of the Lord Jesus, who is to be praised forever, knows that I am not lying.” 2 Corinthians 11:22-31.

 

 

Conflict

 

Paul was met with what is to be considered as extreme opposition from others vv. 23-24

 

Examples:

 

Opposing values of family and friends. Unresolved anger in relationships. Unrealistic expectations of another person. Lack of open communication in relationships.

 

Crisis

 

Paul was shipwrecked and often in extreme danger. vv. 25-26

 

 

 

Examples:

 

Death of a friend or family member. Separation or divorce. Severe illness or handicaps. Unexpected trauma of any kind.

 

Change

 

Paul was constantly on the move, often going without sleep. vv. 26-27.

 

Examples:

 

Change of environment. Change in financial state. Change in employment. Change in sleeping and health habits.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

